Voices of Passion

27.04-04.05.2024
Locaties:
• Sint-Jan-de-Evangelistkerk | Abdij van Park, 3001 Leuven
• Sint-Pieterskerk | Grote Markt, 3000 Leuven

Enjoy the dulcet tones of this superior polyphonic festival. Voices of Passion brings the age-old polyphonic music form to life in Leuven. During the festival, scores will be reinterpreted and enchanting polyphonic music pieces will be performed by top ensembles from home and abroad.

Leuven’s Alamire Foundation ensures the revaluation of polyphonic music and consequently the preservation of an important piece of intangible heritage. Every spring, they organise Voices of Passion in collaboration with the 30CC Cultural Centre. The setting for this unique event is the Park Abbey Baroque church, a green oasis of tranquillity just outside the city with music to quiet the soul. Concerts also take place in the Gothic Saint Peter’s Church, right in the centre of Leuven.

Flemish music masters

Just like the Flemish Primitives in the art world, Flemish composers took the world by storm during the Renaissance. They made names for themselves composing music made up of multiple voices, i.e. polyphonies.

The style was based on monophonic Gregorian music, adding another voice each time. This music expanded to become extraordinary, complex sound structures, whereby each vocalist must be able to link multiple parts. The meaning of the texts also increased in importance. As from the 15th century, composers from the Lage Landen (‘flaminghi’) served as the ultimate reference for this style of music.

Perfect polyphony

In polyphonic music, multiple voices sing their own melodies simultaneously. This gives the music a complex structure, as well as an extraordinarily harmonious unity. This style of music evolved from a point where there was initially a single, overpowering voice into a style where all the voices were equally important. The composers utilise an incredible amount of technical control, which creates balanced musical lines and a gorgeous composition of the voices.

@Hans Morren
Something wrong or unclear on this page? Let us know.

Voices of Passion

27.04-04.05.2024
Lieux :
• Sint-Jan-de-Evangelistkerk | Abdij van Park, 3001 Leuven
• Sint-Pieterskerk | Grote Markt, 3000 Leuven

La musique céleste est au rendez-vous de ce festival polyphonique de haute qualité. La Passion des Voix fait revivre à Leuven la musique polyphonique millénaire. Au cours de ce festival, des partitions seront réinterprétées et des pièces musicales polyphoniques magiques seront jouées par de grands ensembles nationaux et internationaux.

À Leuven, l’Alamire Foundation se charge de revaloriser la polyphonie et, par conséquent, de préserver un élément important du patrimoine immatériel. Chaque printemps, elle organise le festival 'Voices of Passion' en collaboration avec la maison de la culture 30CC. Cet événement spécial se déroule dans l'église baroque de l'Abbaye de Parc. Une oasis de verdure et de calme située aux abords de la ville, où résonne une musique apaisante. Des concerts ont également lieu dans l’Église gothique de Saint-Pierre, en plein centre de Leuven.

Les maîtres flamands de la musique

Comme les primitifs flamands, les compositeurs ont également conquis le monde à la Renaissance. Ils se sont fait un nom grâce à leurs compositions de musique polyphonique.

Ce style se distingue de la musique grégorienne à l'unisson en ajoutant une voix à chaque fois. Les morceaux se sont développés en structures sonores particulièrement complexes, chaque chanteur devant pouvoir relier plusieurs parties musicales. La signification des textes a également pris de plus en plus d’importance. À partir du XVe siècle, les compositeurs des Pays-Bas (« flaminghi ») ont été considérés comme des références pour ce style de musique.

Une belle polyphonie

Dans la musique polyphonique, plusieurs voix chantent leur propre mélodie, créant à la fois une structure musicale complexe et un ensemble harmonieux extraordinaire. Alors qu'une seule voix dominait auparavant, ce style de musique a évolué au point que toutes les voix deviennent équivalentes. Les compositeurs font preuve d'une grande maîtrise technique, en créant des lignes musicales équilibrées et de magnifiques compositions vocales.

@Hans Morren
Vous constatez une erreur ou une imprécision sur notre site ? Faites-le nous savoir.