Big Bang Route

George Lemaître (1894-1966) gained worldwide fame as the founder of Big Bang theory. If you want to find out more about this superstar, you can take a bike ride from Leuven to Louvain-la-Neuve, the university towns where he once taught as a professor.

Scientists have developed 8 stages where you can learn more about Lemaître, the Big Bang, the evolution of the universe, the earth, and the future using QR codes. You can pick up a brochure with the route at the tourism counter. A beautiful, 34-km bike tour leads you through the Meerdaalwoud and the countryside of the province of Walloon Brabant.

You start and end at the statues of Lemaître, in Leuven and Louvain-la-Neuve. Are you curious as to where you’ll find him in Leuven? You can find him on the courtyard of the College van Premonstreit in the Naamsestraat.
 

Practical info

Downloads
Big Bang Route(pdf, 13.92 MB)

Also discover

Something wrong or unclear on this page? Let us know.

Big Bang Route

George Lemaître (1894-1966) est mondialement connu comme le fondateur de la théorie du Big Bang. Envie d’en savoir plus sur cette superstar ? Enfourchez votre vélo et reliez Leuven à Louvain-la-Neuve, les villes universitaires où il enseigna.

Des scientifiques ont ponctué ce circuit de 8 étapes et autant de codes QR, qui vous en apprendront plus sur Lemaître, le Big Bang, l’évolution de l’univers, la Terre et l’avenir. Rendez-vous à l’office de tourisme pour récupérer la brochure avec l’itinéraire. Sillonnez le Meerdaalwoud et le paysage rural du Brabant wallon à la faveur d’un splendide parcours de 34 km.

Les statues de Lemaître, à Leuven et Louvain-la-Neuve, seront votre point de départ et d’arrivée. À Leuven, vous trouverez son buste dans la cour intérieure du collège des Prémontrés, situé dans la Naamsestraat.
 

Infos pratiques

Downloads
Big Bang Route(pdf, 13.92 Mo)

Découvrez aussi

Vous constatez une erreur ou une imprécision sur notre site ? Faites-le nous savoir.