Titel

Lieve & Rik

When you spend a weekend in Leuven, make sure to get there early because you can easily fill 48 hours.

Day 1

Het Laatste Avondmaal
  • 10 am | There’s no better way to start the weekend than with a visit to the tower at the university library to take in the unique panorama of the entire city.
     
  • 11 am | The doors of the Museum M, about 100 m from the university library, open at 11 am. Your museum ticket will also get you into the treasury at St Peter’s Church, which is the oldest and largest church in Leuven. Among other things, you’ll find 'The Last Supper' by Dirk Bouts in the M-Treasury of Saint Peter. The Leuven Town Hall, one of the most beautiful late Gothic buildings in Europe, is just across from Saint Peter’s Church. (There is a guided tour every day at 3 pm)
     
  • 1 pm | It’s definitely time for a bite to eat by now. You can get something on the Grote Markt, the square between the Town Hall and the church. This same square is also a great place to come drink something in the evening when the last rays of the setting sun turn the Town Hall golden.
Foodhall De Smidse
  • 2 pm | Weekend visitors are best off popping into the shops on Saturday afternoon. But don’t forget the quieter shopping streets with their smaller, cosy boutiques, like the Parijsstraat and the Mechelsestraat. You can stop at Barbóék, which is a unique combination of a coffee bar and a bookshop, for coffee.
     
  • 5 pm | If your legs aren’t too tired, now is the time to head to the Sluispark via the Vismarkt and Saint Gertrude’s Abbey and walk along the Vaartkom. Construction on the new Leuven is going on here on the site where Stella beer used to be brewed. If you’re feeling a bit peckish again, you can head to De Smidse, the old Stella Artois forge, which now houses a modern market for traditional foodstuffs. This unique setting is also home to Pasta Atelier Rossi. According to Gault&Millau, chef Felice Miluzzi is the best Italian chef in Belgium. On the other side of the Dijle River is the Grand Café De Hoorn, where you can enjoy a bite to eat and the view of the old copper brew-kettles of the historic De Hoorn brewery. If you’d rather bypass the meat, you can go to the Noordoever, a vegetarian restaurant on the banks of the old Vaartkom, that’s just 100 m up the way. They put the tables outside on the banks in the summer.

Day 2

Abdij van Park

We know the Leuven city centre like the back of our hands, so now it’s time to expand our range. The easiest way to do this is on two wheels, and you can even opt for an electric bike. You can rent bicycles here.

  • 10 am | First stop: the Botanical Garden, Belgium’s oldest botanical garden (1738). It’s not the largest but it is the most charming of gardens in our country.
     
  • 11 am | Second stop: the Great Beguinage, one of the largest beguinages that is still maintained in Belgium. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage site. The three-hectare enclosed garden is a peaceful oasis in the middle of a busy city.
     
  • noon | Head out of the city and into Park Abbey in Heverlee. The Abbey was once the largest in the Low Countries and hard work is now underway to restore the gigantic area. You can have lunch here at Brasserie Abdijmolen. You have a gorgeous view of the abbey site’s ponds from the brasserie terrace. 
     
  • 2 pm | If you’ve still got some energy in your legs, you can ride on over to the Vlierbeek Abbey. The church is definitely worth the effort but even more so is the tavern In den Rozenkrans, a pub where the interior has not changed for the past 50 years. A break on the terrace is a must in the summertime.

Titel

Lieve & Rik

Si vous passez un week-end à Leuven, faites en sorte d'arriver tôt car la ville a de quoi vous occuper facilement pendant 48 heures.

Jour 1

Het Laatste Avondmaal
  • 10h | Pour commencer le week-end en beauté, allez visiter la tour de la bibliothèque universitaire d'où vous contemplerez un panorama imprenable sur la ville.
     
  • 11h | Le M-Museum, à une centaine de mètres de la bibliothèque universitaire, ouvre ses portes à 11 heures. Le ticket d'entrée vous donne également accès au M-Trésor de Saint-Pierre – la plus ancienne et la plus grande de Leuven –  qui abrite, entre autres, 'La Cène' de Dirk Bouts. L'hôtel de ville, l'un des plus beaux édifices en gothique tardif d'Europe, se trouve juste en face de l'église (visite guidée tous les jours à 15 h).
     
  • 13h | Le moment est venu de passer à table. Vous pouvez manger un morceau sur le Grote Markt, la place située entre l'hôtel de ville et l'église principale. Cet endroit est également idéal pour prendre un verre le soir quand, en été, les derniers rayons du soleil enveloppent l'hôtel de ville d'une lumière dorée.
Foodhall De Smidse
  • 14h | Si vous passez le week-end à Leuven et souhaitez faire du shopping, le samedi après-midi est le moment idéal à cet effet. Ne manquez pas de vous balader dans les rues commerçantes plus tranquilles, comme la Parijsstraat et la Mechelsestraat, où vous découvrirez des petites boutiques sympas. En cours de route, faites une pause-café au Barbóék, une combinaison unique entre café et librairie.
     
  • 17h | Il vous reste de l'énergie ? Promenez-vous alors jusqu'au Sluispark et au Vaartkom via le Vismarkt et l'Abbaye Sainte-Gertrude. C'est à cet endroit que le nouveau Leuven est en construction, sur les sites où l'on brassait la Stella autrefois. Si vous avez une petite faim, mettez le cap sur De Smidse, l'ancienne forge de Stella Artois située dans ce quartier, qui abrite aujourd'hui un marché moderne de produits artisanaux. Ce cadre exceptionnel abrite également le Pasta Atelier Rossi. Selon Gault&Millau, le chef Felice Miluzzi est le meilleur chef italien du pays. De l'autre côté de la Dyle, le Grand Café De Hoorn vous invite à vous restaurer en contemplant les anciennes cuves de brassage en cuivre de la brasserie De Hoorn historique. Si vous savez vous passer de viande, vous trouverez, 100 mètres plus loin, le Noordoever, un restaurant végétarien le long de l'ancien Vaartkom. En été, les tables sont dressées au bord de l'eau.

Jour 2

Abdij van Park

Étant donné que nous connaissons déjà le centre de Leuven comme notre poche, il est temps d'élargir quelque peu notre rayon d'action. Le moyen de locomotion le plus facile à cet effet est le deux-roues, électrique ou non. Vous pouvez louer un vélo ici.

  • 10h | Premier arrêt : le Jardin Botanique, qui est le plus ancien de Belgique (1738). Ce n'est pas l'un des plus grands jardins de notre pays mais l'un des plus charmants.
     
  • 11h | Deuxième arrêt : le Grand Béguinage, l'un des plus grands béguinages encore conservés en Belgique, qui est inscrit au patrimoine de l'humanité de l'UNESCO. Le jardin clos de 3 hectares est un havre de paix dans l'effervescence de la ville.
     
  • 12h | Quittons à présent la ville pour nous rendre à l'Abbaye du Parc à Heverlee. Celle-ci fut jadis l'une des plus grandes de la région historique des Pays-Bas. La restauration de ce site gigantesque bat actuellement son plein. Vous pourrez déjeuner à la Brasserie Abdijmolen dont la terrasse offre une vue splendide sur les étangs du domaine. 
     
  • 14h | Si vous avez encore de l'énergie, vous pouvez poursuivre votre route jusqu'à l'Abbaye de Vlierbeek. Si cette église mérite le coup d'œil, l'auberge In den Rozenkrans en vaut encore plus la peine : l'intérieur de cet estaminet n'a pas changé depuis 50 ans. La terrasse est un must en été.