BANG!

The Leuven Big Bang City Festival – BANG! – runs from 15 October 2021 through 30 January 2022. It’s all about the majesty and wonder of the cosmos and our place in it, explored through the imaginings and intellect of scientists and artists. The topic itself is no accident. Nearly a century ago, it was here in Leuven that Georges Lemaître first introduced the Big Bang theory. 

BANG! inventively highlights the intersection of science and art through exhibitions, installations, performances, happenings, lectures, and more on this glocally relevant theme.

The City Festival is a KU[N]ST Leuven initiative, a joint venture between KU Leuven and the City of Leuven.

What can you expect?

A series of world-class exhibitions in Leuven’s various museums:

  • M Leuven ‘Imagining the Universe’: a prestigious exhibition exploring how the universe was depicted by artists and philosophers from ancient times until the 19th century.
  • University Library ‘To the Edge of Time’: an exhibition on the interface of science and contemporary visual art and for which the ground-breaking scientific research of Georges Lemaître serves as the starting point.
  • Dialogue museum PARCUM connects the city centre with the beautiful grounds of Park Abbey.
  • Interventions in public spaces.

 

An innovative programme of music in collaboration with the Stuk arts centre and with the cosmos as a source of inspiration, from 25 November to 5 December 2021. Ranging from Flemish Polyphony to experimental sound, the programme has international allure and features several new creations.

A sophisticated programme of lectures and debates. BOOM! The Big Bang city festival brings together world-renowned Flemish scientists and prominent international thinkers.

A fascinating as well as educational programme geared towards families, with the title Big Bang for Kids. It includes a brand-new theatrical production by fABULEUS and countless initiatives such as the ‘Dag van de Ruimtevaart’ (day of the space industry), a day dedicated to human space flight organised in conjunction with the Flemish space industry.

Practical info

  • 16.10.2021 - 30.01.2022
  • Various locations in Leuven
  • More informatio: website Big Bang Festival
Something wrong or unclear on this page? Let us know.

BOUM !

Du 15 octobre 2021 au 30 janvier 2022, le festival urbain BOUM! consacré au Big Bang se déroulera à Leuven. Il gravite autour de la fascination que, depuis toujours, le cosmos exerce sur l’homme et sur la place de celui-ci dans l’univers, à travers la pensée et les représentations de scientifiques et d’artistes. Le choix de ce thème n’est pas dû au hasard. La théorie du Big Bang (ou théorie de la déflagration primitive) a été rédigée à Leuven par le professeur Georges Lemaître dans les années 1920, début des années 1930. 

Pour illustrer ce thème, BOUM! conjugue de manière ambitieuse la science et l’art, en proposant notamment des expositions, installations, représentations, événements et conférences.

Ce festival est une initiative de KU[N]ST Leuven, trait d’union de la collaboration entre la ville de Leuven et la KU Leuven.

Qu'est-ce qui vous y attend ?

Un parcours d'exposition d'envergure internationale dans différents musées de Leuven :

  • M Leuven « Imagining the Universe » : une exposition prestigieuse axée sur la représentation de l'univers dans l'art et l'évolution de la pensée de l'Antiquité au XIXe siècle.
  • Bibliothèque universitaire « To the Edge of Time » : une exposition au carrefour de la science et de l'art figuratif contemporain qui part des recherches scientifiques révolutionnaires de Georges Lemaître.
  • PARCUM, un musée qui incite au dialogue et qui fait le lien entre le centre-ville et l'Abbaye du Parc.
  • Interventions dans l'espace public.

Un programme musical innovant inspiré du cosmos, organisé en collaboration avec le centre d'arts Stuk du 25 novembre au 5 décembre 2021. Des polyphonies flamandes au son expérimental, le programme présente à la fois des perles internationales et des nouvelles créations.

Un programme diversifié de conférences et de débats. BOUM !, le festival du Big Bang, met à l'honneur certains grands noms de la science flamands aux côtés d'autres savants internationaux.

Big Bang for Kids, un programme passionnant et enrichissant taillé sur mesure pour les familles. Il propose notamment un nouvelle production théâtrale de fABULEUS ainsi que d'innombrables activités comme la Journée de la Navigation spatiale, organisée en collaboration avec la Vlaamse Ruimtevaartindustrie, l'association de l'industrie spatiale flamande.

Infos pratiques

Vous constatez une erreur ou une imprécision sur notre site ? Faites-le nous savoir.