Titel

4x Arenberg Festival

by the Arenbergs

We, the nobility, have a reputation for not being accessible enough. Luckily, the Arenberg Festival is breaking with this tradition. For three months, you’ll get an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at life in our family in Leuven. What was life like for us in the past and what’s it like now? What roles do we play in politics, the economy, and culture? What is the history behind our castle in Heverlee and what is it like to live in a castle? We’re proud to present the following ongoing activities.

Expo M-Museum Leuven | Macht en schoonheid
  • 1. Exhibition in M-Museum Leuven | Power and Beauty
    We’re all looking forward to this the most! Our historic art collection has once again been brought back together completely in this exhibition. Artworks by masters such as Rubens, Veronese, Dürer, and Jordaens, which are currently spread out across museums and collections around the world, will give you insights into our comfortable lifestyle. The centuries-old ballgowns and masquerade costumes are also given a place of honour in this gorgeous museum.
Expo in universiteitsbibliotheek | Adellijk wonen
  • 2. Exhibition in the University Library | Noble living
    This exhibition is all about our favourite residence, the Arenberg Castle. Its extraordinary history is covered, but we’re particularly interested in discovering the unexecuted architectural dreams of Uncle Charles III de Croÿ, recreated in 3D. And I’m hoping to find my former chambermaid in one of the many photographs. ;
Ontdekkingstoch door het kasteel
  • 3. Tour of the Arenberg Castle
    Apparently, there are a lot of people interested in finding out what our castle looks like inside. Well, we’ve got good news for you! Because the castle doors are being thrown wide open exclusively for the festival. You can tour it with a guide every Sunday.
Natuurwandelingen
  • 4. Nature walks 
    The forests and nature have always been very economically important to us. We are quite proud of the gorgeous green ‘lung’ around Leuven that has resulted from this. You can discover the stories behind the centuries-old cathedral beeches, hidden boundary stones, burial hills, and sand quarries on a guided tour. And you may even spot a deer!

Practical info

Titel

4x Arenberg Festival

selon les Arenbergs

La noblesse a la réputation d'être peu accessible. Heureusement, le Festival d'Arenberg rompt avec cette tradition. Pendant trois mois, Leuven vous propose une immersion exclusive dans la vie de notre famille. Comment vivions-nous autrefois et quel rôle avons-nous joué sur la scène politique, économique et culturelle ? Quel est l'histoire de notre château d'Heverlee et à quoi ressemble la « vie de château » ? Nous sommes fiers de vous présenter les activités permanentes.

Expo M-Museum Leuven | Macht en schoonheid
  • 1. Exposition au musée M | Le Pouvoir et la Beauté
    L'événement phare que nous attendons tous avec impatience ! Cette exposition rassemble une série d'œuvres majeures de notre ancienne collection d'art. Les chefs-d'œuvre de Rubens, Véronèse, Dürer, Jordaens et tant d'autres, dispersés dans les musées et les collections du monde entier, vous donneront un aperçu de notre somptueux style de vie. Mais vous pourrez également admirer de très anciennes robes de bal et des costumes de mascarade dans ce magnifique musée.
Expo in universiteitsbibliotheek | Adellijk wonen
  • 2. Exposition à la bibliothèque universitaire | Vivre noblement Cette exposition est consacrée à notre résidence favorite : le Château d'Arenberg. Elle retrace son histoire exceptionnelle et nous permettra surtout de découvrir les projets architecturaux, jamais réalisés, de notre oncle Charles III de Croÿ, grâce entre autres à la technologie 3D. J'espère retrouver mon ancienne femme de chambre sur l'une des nombreuses photos exposées.
Ontdekkingstoch door het kasteel
  • 3. Visite guidée du Château Arenberg
    Vous êtes manifestement nombreux à vouloir découvrir l'intérieur de notre château. Bonne nouvelle : à l'occasion du festival, le château vous ouvre exceptionnellement ses portes ! Des visites guidées (en néerlandais) sont organisées chaque dimanche. Réservez vos tickets !
Natuurwandelingen
  • 4. Balades nature 
    La forêt et la nature ont joué un important rôle économique pour notre famille, dont les parcs et forêts forment aujourd'hui un véritable poumon vert qui entoure la ville de Leuven. Accompagné d'un guide, vous découvrirez les histoires qui se cachent derrière les bornes cachées, les tumulus, les sablières et les hêtraies, véritables cathédrales formées par des arbres séculaires. Qui sait, vous apercevrez peut-être même un chevreuil !

Infos pratiques